Princess Jasmine

Somehow my last blog post was in September 2015! Time flies.

So what have I been up to?

Well, I moved home to St Neots and then 10 months later I moved again, to Sevenoaks. I move home on average once a year so this was a new record.

I was offered a secondment opportunity at work and I am currently enjoying a new internal communications role. I am so happy to be taking a break from handling customer complaints and I hope to be able to make a more permanent career change from this experience.

I turned 30 last summer! My boyfriend whisked me away on a surprise holiday to Lisbon and I was thoroughly spoiled.

Which brings me to the subject of this blog – my costume for my 30th birthday party.

30 invite

The theme was the letter J – everyone had to come as something beginning with J. I chose Princess Jasmine from Aladdin. I decided to make my own costume as the ones available to buy weren’t quite what I was after and I don’t have the waistline to pull them off!

IMG_20170321_213535

I decided to make some high waisted harem pants, to hide my belly. I used this guide to draft a pattern for the classic full harem pants. These were actually pretty straight forward and the easiest part of the whole costume.

Somehow I then drafted a top, but I couldn’t tell you how! I drew a freestyle pattern, roughly holding it up to my body to compare size. I cut out one bodice piece which I gathered into a waistband. I also added two straps. I ran out of time to do this with great care, so it was all a bit rushed and not my finest work! When I finished the top was actually too small, so I had to add another panel at the back, and I added poppers to fasten it. To be honest, it wasn’t anywhere near so well fitted as I had hoped but I didn’t have time to re-do it.

The wig was from ebay, jewellery from a friend, headband from ebay with fabric wrapped around and superglued to the underside. The finished result – here I am with my dad (Indiana Jones) and my mum (the Jack of Hearts):

IMG_20170321_214504_286

Probably the pastiest Princess Jasmine ever seen and not the slinkiest version going! But I worked damn hard on that costume and I was pleased it turned out ok!

I don’t have great pictures from the pub as it was really dark, but I have some amazing friends who put an incredible amount of effort into their costumes. There were jellyfish, jigsaws, a jet pack, Jemima Puddleduck, Juliette Caesars, Jessica Rabbit, a johnny, Jeff Goldblums, Jace from Magic the Gathering, Jungle Jane, a jockey, jam, a joker, a jogger, Jack and Jill, Jumanji and jam. It was a sight to behold and I’m so grateful to have such a great group of family and friends.

And thank you to my family for the amazing selection of childhood photos and retro cake!

 

 

 

 

 

What do you think?

