Elizabeth Dress

This is my version of the Elizabeth Dress by Spit Up & Stilettos. It’s a free pattern! You can find it here. There are loads of free patterns on this website, well worth checking out.

image

The black fabric is crepe de chine from Plush Addict. The red lace was from a fabric shop in Maidstone on sale for Β£3 per metre. Both fabrics are a bit stretchy and I was a little nervous I would mess this up as I haven’t used many stretch fabrics and I’ve never sewn with lace. I dug out and dusted off my walking foot and used a stretch needle on my sewing machine, which seemed to do the trick.

This pattern is actually quite straightforward to put together. The sweetheart neckline was a little fiddly, but I just took it slow and made sure not to stretch the fabric as it went through the machine. I’m pleased with how it turned out. I chose a size 12 and didn’t make any adjustments to the pattern, but before sewing the zip and side seams Itook the side seams in. I pinned the zip in place using safety pins and it felt a little baggy. I brought the side seams in on both sides to keep the pleats even. I probably should have made a bust adjustment to the pattern as I took it in a lot at the waist but not so much at the bust, but doing it this way seemed to work ok.

image

image

image

I took my time with this dress and for the first time in ages didn’t have to unpick loads of mistakes. I’m particularly pleased with my invisible zip which is actually invisible! And my seam lines on the bodice and skirt actually match for once! There’s a little more fabric on the back than I need, but I don’t think it looks too bad. I’m just too lazy to look up how to do a swayback adjustment, but it’s a consistent problem so I should really just do it!

image

Overall I’m feeling good about this dress – using stretch fabrics wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be! I just wish I had an overlocker so I could finish the raw edges nicely. Ive started shopping around for one but I’m so overwhelmed by all the different models available. Does anyone have one and have any advice?

4 thoughts on “Elizabeth Dress

  1. Nice! I’ve used a few spit up and stilettos patterns, gotta love free stuff!!! I love the black and red you used πŸ™‚ you should totally get a serger, it will change your life!! I have a juki and it is amazing.

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ This is the first spit up and stilettos pattern I’ve tried, really pleased with it! And yes, free is always amazing!

      I think I am definitely going to invest in an overlocker/serger. I really love the finish it gives, much nicer than my zig zag stitch!

  2. I have this pattern printed, really need to make one, especially after seeing yours! Wow I love you seam matching at the back! The colours are a gorgeous match. I’m thinking of asking for an overlocker for Christmas. (Or at least money towards!)

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ you should definitely make it! It was surprisingly easy to make, I just had to take my time seeing the bodice to the yoke but that was the only fiddly bit πŸ™‚

      I think I am going to invest in an overlocker. I had some leaving money from my last job and birthday money I’ve been hoarding until I decide what to buy. I think I just need to go for it. It’s so overwhelming looking at different models though!

What do you think?

