Me-Made-May’15

me-made-may'14

At the beginning of May I signed up for the Me-Made-May’15 challenge, to wear two homemade items of clothing each week in May 2015. As two items a week isn’t much I decided to do round-up at the end of the month rather than daily or weekly updates. Here it is! (Sorry for the poor quality photos!)

IMG_6718

Week 1 – kimono jacket and Thurlow shorts.

IMG_6719

Week 2: Clemence skirt and Coco dress

IMG_6733

Week 3: Clover trousers and Polly top

IMG_6824

Week 4: Margot pyjamas and Zinnia skirt

This challenge gave me the chance to weed out the dodgy homemade clothes from my wardrobe. It’s taken me a long time to get the hang of fitting clothes, and combined with that I’ve lost a little weight recently. All these ill-fitting makes have gone straight to the charity shop/bin and I’ll be making toiles for everything from now on!

IMG_6825

IMG_6826

IMG_6888

I also wanted to work out what type of clothes to make more of. I’ve realised that at 6.15am when I get up for work, I need an outfit that’s easy to put together. Preferably something that doesn’t need ironing as well, so I will try to choose my fabrics carefully! So, here’s the to do list.

  • First on the list is more dresses. They’re simple to throw on in the morning and I don’t have to think too much about whether it clashes with anything. I thought I had a lot of dresses (and I did) but I just took most of them to the charity shop as they fit so badly. More needed!
  • I want some more smart trousers, like my Clover pair and my Thurlow shorts. Again, these are really easy to throw on in the morning so I want more!
  • To go with the trousers, I want to have a go at making some shirts. I always struggle to get the fitting right with shirts, so we’ll see if I can pull this off.
  • I’m less keen on skirts. I do want to make a few, but only if I also make some plain t-shirts to wear with them. I can’t cope with coordinating patterns and colours first thing in the morning (I’m honestly pathetic when I first get up!). I also need skirts to fit well around my waist as it drives me nuts if they ride up or twist around during the day.
4 thoughts on “Me-Made-May’15

    1. Thanks 🙂 the Zinnia skirt is the one skirt I love wearing! Yes, MMM definitely forced me to sort my wardrobe out and start planning what to make next 🙂

    1. Thanks! I’m getting there slowly! I think the most important thing I’ve learned is to expect to need a toile and to make some alterations most of the time. When I started seeing I just wanted to go as quickly as possible and didn’t spend enough time on fitting.

What do you think?

