Kimono jacket

I finally got around to making a kimono jacket. There was a bit of a kimono craze a while ago, and of course everyone else has already moved on. But I had some leftover fabric from my Truffle dress, so now I finally have one too! I used the free kimono jacket pattern by Sew Caroline.

IMG_6702

IMG_6703

IMG_6704

I tried to make the insides as neat as possible, so I used french seams for the side and shoulder seams. I also used bias binding on inside of the armholes so that the raw edges weren’t left exposed.

IMG_6707

Life has been busy recently so it’s been good to have an easy project, with no fitting issues to worry about. If I made it again I would lengthen the pattern though as I think it looks a little short on me.

IMG_6705

Interesting fact! Kimono refers to traditional Japanese clothes, and literally means ‘wear-thing’ (ki – wear, mono – thing). But my favourite Japanese word is daisuki – love – because it literally translates as ‘big like’. Jaketto ga daisuki… I ‘big like’ my jacket!

2 thoughts on “Kimono jacket

What do you think?

