Zinnia

I can’t get enough of Colette Patterns at the moment! My last two makes (Sorbetto and Clover) were Colette designs as well. I wanted to get some of their patterns ages ago when I first started sewing, but the postage cost from America put me off. A little/quite a while ago they had a sale and I ordered 4 at once, hence the Colette Patterns marathon.

I bring you my third Colette make… Zinnia!

IMG_6322

The fabric is some kind of lightweight cotton from a shop on Goldhawk Road. Only £2.50 per metre – bargain! It’s light enough to make a great summer skirt, and has the added bonus that it’s basically magic and never needs to be ironed. This thing cannot be creased!

This was a breeze to sew. It’s really easy to put together and the instructions are clear and concise. I cut a straight size 12 with no alterations. The only minor hiccup was the buttonhole extension (is that what it’s called?).

IMG_6319

You can see that there’s a bit of a kink between the buttonhole and the waistband. The fabric was quite slippy to sew with and I wasn’t accurate enough putting the pieces together. Choosing a busy pattern helped though, as the mistake doesn’t stand out. It’s definitely not enough to put me off making this a summer wardrobe staple.

IMG_6320

2 thoughts on “Zinnia

What do you think?

