Clover

Voila! My first homemade trousers!

image

I’ve made quite a few dresses and skirts now and I fancied learning to make something new. These are made using the Colette Clover pattern. I cut a straight size 12 and didn’t make any pattern adjustments (as I have no idea how to alter the fit for trousers). The fabric is cotton twill from one of the many fabric shops on Goldhawk Road in London.

I’m pleased with them, especially as I’ve never made any trousers before. There are definitely some improvements to be made though. I used a flowery fabric for the front pockets but I don’t think they look great as you can just see a tiny glimpse of it which looks odd. I also somehow managed to make one pocket opening longer than the other… I should get away with this as it will be covered by shirts when I wear them.

image

There’s also a bit of pulling around the crotch area. I don’t think it looks too bad, but I do notice it. What do you think, is the pulling really obvious? Any ideas how to fix this? I have zero trouser fitting knowledge. I’m currently on a mission to lose weight so the plan is to get skinny enough that this isn’t an issue anymore (though this probably isn’t the best fitting technique to adopt)!

Still, I don’t think it’s bad for a first attempt. πŸ™‚

image

6 thoughts on “Clover

  1. Wow that’s an amazing fit right out the envelope. I don’t notice the wrinkles at all. And I actually like the color with a little peek of floral πŸ™‚ it looks really good!

    1. Thanks! Maybe I’m just being paranoid then. And yeah it’s not bad for straight out the envelope. It’s a really nice pattern, pretty simple as well πŸ™‚

What do you think?

