Online sewing resources for beginners

Since buying a sewing machine and deciding I wanted to learn to sew, the internet has been my friend. The answer is almost always out here, it just sometimes takes a bit of digging. Here are some of the best resources I’ve found on the internet.

  • Free pdf patterns are a great way to get started. There’s the Sorbetto from Colette, Polly from By Hand London, a kimono jacket from Sew Caroline. You can download the pdf pattern then print and assemble the pattern in your own home (all you need is tape and a pair of scissors). They’re great, simple, stylish designs so take advantage of the free stuff!
  • Tilly and the Buttons. Tilly basically taught me to sew. She has written extensive guides on learning to sew, starting from how to thread the sewing machine to how to line jackets and skirts. Not only that, Tilly sells sewing patterns which have beautifully designed step by step illustrated guides which explain every step clearly. If you’re a beginner I couldn’t recommend the learning to sew guides enough. Even if you’re not a total beginner you might find some useful information there.
  • YouTube! There have been many times I got stuck with a pattern, because I didn’t understand the instructions or the type of stitch needed. YouTube has helped me out with this consistently. There are hundreds of videos on YouTube with guides for sewing. I highly recommend using the wealth of videos on the internet, especially if you are someone who learns visually. Sometimes reading instructions and looking at diagrams can be a bit overwhelming, but if you watch a video then you can see exactly how it’s supposed to work.
  • Sew-alongs. There are so many amazing indie pattern companies out there who do sew-alongs for their patterns. These are step by step guides which explain how to make the pattern. I’ve used sew-alongs by By Hand London (for my Elisalex dress) and Blue Ginger Doll (for my Mae blouse). In fact I deliberately chose these patterns because I knew there were sew-alongs to help me. And there are so many more out there – Sewaholic, Grainline and Colette to name a few.

I hope you find these helpful! Please feel free to share any other good resources you’ve come across in the comments. 🙂

What do you think?

