Bed linen skirt

Sewing is expensive, and I just spent all my money on a holiday. My solution? Buying duvet covers and sheets from charity shops and making them into new clothes! This is the first bed linen creation.

Image

The pattern is the Clemence skirt in Tilly’s book Love at First Stitch. I have taught myself to sew using the internet and Tilly’s blog and learn to sew guides have been a huge help. I bought the book to cheer myself up from the post-h0liday blues, and I’m so glad I did. I love the clear instructions, the variety of patterns and just how beautiful and colourful the book is. And I’m so excited to get started on the rest of the patterns!

bed linen skirt 1

I’m pretty pleased with this considering it cost me £4 from a charity shop to make, along with some left over fabric and interfacing for the waistband. It’s also a nice change to sew with a cheap fabric that I don’t mind messing up, I felt a lot braver hacking the duvet cover to bits.

20140624-074802-28082515.jpg

I had a moment of enlightenment making this skirt. I need an invisible zipper foot for my sewing machine! I have a regular zipper foot, but couldn’t work out what I was doing wrong with invisible zips. I just didn’t realise that there was a special foot attachment to do it! So that’s next on the shopping list. I don’t think I did too badly without one, but it’s definitely something worth investing in.

bed linen skirt 3

What do you think?

