Grocery bags

I’ve been making good use of this book, and carried on with the bag theme.

Here are my foldable grocery shopping bags!

image

image

image

The first one is made from a fabric given to me by a colleague at work. I haven’t been quite sure what to do with it, but this bag seemed perfect. It has a bit of a fishy theme (cue the close-up!):

image

So I bought the fish scale fabric from Plush Addict to be the pocket and the lining. I’m really pleased with how the two fabrics look together.

The second one was designed to use up the left over anchor fabric. I bought a wave fabric from Plush Addict to keep the marine idea going, but I’m less pleased with how this one looks. The waves are a bit brighter than I thought they were going to be, and the two fabrics don’t quite go together as well. I do love the way the anchor fabric looks as a lining though.

image

And here they are in their folded form! They fold up inside the front pocket.

image

Now these little bags are bigger and tougher than they look! I’m quite amazed at how much they can hold and how much weight they can take. Rather than just hanging in the kitchen looking nice, I’ve actually been using these a lot 🙂

What do you think?

